India as a nation welcomes the guest wholeheartedly. On the eve of the 74th Republic Day, the president of Egypt; Abdel Fattah el-Sisi has been formally invited by the prime Minister of India, Shri Narendra Modi. The President of Egypt, Abdel Fattah Saeed Hussein Khalil el-Sisi; commonly known as Abdel Fattah el-Sisi was born on 9th November 1954 in Cairo, Egypt. He is not only the Executive Head of Egypt but also a retired Military Officer. Abdel Fattah el-Sisi is the sixth President of Egypt.
India and Egypt enjoy warm and friendly relations based on civilizational and deep-rooted people-to-people ties. India has invited Egypt, an Islamic nation for the very first time for the celebrations of the Republic Day that takes place on 26th January, every year.
Abdel Fattah el-Sisi has an interesting political life. Before retiring from the Military as a General in 2014, he served as the Deputy Prime Minister of Egypt from 2013-2014. He served as the Minister of Defense from 2012-2013 and as its Director of Military Intelligence from the year 2010-2012. Later on, Abdel Fattah el-Sisi was promoted to the rank of Field Marshal in January 2014.

Chief Guests are one of the focal points of any event. A day like Republic Day, for any Indian holds a significant place. Let’s have a glimpse of the Chief Guests who India has invited on the occasion of Republic Day since 1950:

  • 1950: President Sukarno, Indonesia
  • 1951: King Tribhuvan Bir Bikram Shah, Nepal
  • 1952 and 1953: No Chief Guest
  • 1954: King Jigme Dorji Wangchuck, Bhutan
  • 1955: Governor General Malik Ghulam Muhammad, Pakistan
  • 1956: Two guests: Chancellor of the Exchequer Rab Butler, United Kingdom; Chief Justice Kotaro Tanaka, Japan
  • 1957: Minister of Defence Georgy Zhukov, Soviet Union
  • 1958: Marshal Ye Jianying, China
  • 1959: Duke of Edinburgh Prince Philip, United Kingdom
  • 1960: Chairman Kliment Voroshilov, Soviet Union
  • 1961: Queen Elizabeth II, United Kingdom
  • 1962: Prime Minister Viggo Kampmann, Denmark
  • 1963: King Norodom Sihanouk, Cambodia
  • 1964: Chief of Defence Staff Lord Louis Mountbatten, United Kingdom
  • 1965: Food and Agriculture Minister Rana Abdul Hamid, Pakistan
  • 1966: No Chief Guest
  • 1967: King Mohammed Zahir Shah, Afghanistan
  • 1968: Two guests: Chairman Alexei Kosygin, Soviet Union; President Josip Broz Tito, Yugoslavia
  • 1969: Prime Minister Todor Zhivkov, Bulgaria
  • 1970: King Baudouin, Belgium
  • 1971: President Julius Nyerere, Tanzania
  • 1972: Prime Minister Seewoosagur Ramgoolam, Mauritius
  • 1973: President Mobutu Sese Seko, Zaire
  • 1974: Two guests: President Josip Broz Tito, Yugoslavia; Prime Minister Sirimavo Bandaranaike, Sri Lanka
  • 1975: President Kenneth Kaunda, Zambia
  • 1976: Prime Minister Jacques Chirac, France
  • 1977: First Secretary Edward Gierek, Poland
  • 1978: President Patrick Hillery, Ireland
  • 1979: Prime Minister Malcolm Fraser, Australia
  • 1980: President Valéry Giscard d’Estaing, France
  • 1981: President Jose Lopez Portillo, Mexico
  • 1982: King Juan Carlos I, Spain
  • 1983: President Shehu Shagari, Nigeria
  • 1984: King Jigme Singye Wangchuck, Bhutan
  • 1985: President Raúl Alfonsín, Argentina
  • 1986: Prime Minister Andreas Papandreou, Greece
  • 1987: President Alan Garcia, Peru
  • 1988: President J. R. Jayewardene, Sri Lanka
  • 1989: General Secretary Nguyen Van Linh, Vietnam
  • 1990: Prime Minister Anerood Jugnauth, Mauritius
  • 1991: President Maumoon Abdul Gayoom, Maldives
  • 1992: President Mário Soares, Portugal
  • 1993: Prime Minister John Major, United Kingdom
  • 1994: Prime Minister Goh Chok Tong, Singapore
  • 1995: President Nelson Mandela, South Africa
  • 1996: President Fernando Henrique Cardoso, Brazil
  • 1997: Prime Minister Basdeo Panday, Trinidad and Tobago
  • 1998: President Jacques Chirac, France
  • 1999: King Birendra Bir Bikram Shah, Nepal
  • 2000: President Olusegun Obasanjo, Nigeria
  • 2001: President Abdelaziz Bouteflika, Algeria
  • 2002: President Cassam Uteem, Mauritius
  • 2003: President Mohammed Khatami, Iran
  • 2004: President Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva, Brazil
  • 2005: King Jigme Singye Wangchuck, Bhutan
  • 2006: King Abdullah bin Abdulaziz al-Saud, Saudi Arabia
  • 2007: President Vladimir Putin, Russia
  • 2008: President Nicolas Sarkozy, France
  • 2009: President Nursultan Nazarbayev, Kazakhstan
  • 2010: President Lee Myung Bak, South Korea
  • 2011: President Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono, Indonesia
  • 2012: Prime Minister Yingluck Shinawatra, Thailand
  • 2013: King Jigme Khesar Namgyel Wangchuck, Bhutan
  • 2014: Prime Minister Shinzo Abe, Japan
  • 2015: President Barack Obama, United States
  • 2016: President François Hollande, France
  • 2017: Crown Prince Mohammed bin Zayed Al Nahyan, United Arab Emirates
  1. Sultan Hassanal Bolkiah, Brunei
  2. Prime Minister Hun Sen, Cambodia
  3. President Joko Widodo, Indonesia
  4. Prime Minister Thongloun Sisoulith, Laos
  5. Prime Minister Najib Razak, Malaysia
  6. State Counsellor Aung San Suu Kyi, Myanmar
  7. President Rodrigo Duterte, Philippines
  8. Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong, Singapore
  9. Prime Minister Prayut Chan-o-cha, Thailand
  10. Prime Minister Nguy?n Xuân Phúc, Vietnam
  • 2019: President Cyril Ramaphosa, South Africa
  • 2020: President Jair Bolsonaro, Brazil
  • 2023*: President Abdel Fatah Al-Sisi

The Republic Day of 2023 will be celebrated on a larger scale post-COVID Pandemic. From 2020 to 2022, no Chief Guests were invited, keeping in view the safety of the people and guests. But this year, on 26th January 2023; the 74th Republic Day of India will be celebrated with great enthusiasm and fervor. The President of India, Smt. Draupadi Murmu will be unfurling the National Flag at the Kartavya Path (formerly known as the Rajpath), in the presence of many dignitaries.

Abdel Fattah el-Sisi to Visit India on 26th Jan,

Who wrote the Preamble?

The Preamble of the Indian Constitution is based on the ‘Objectives Resolution’, drafted and moved by Pandit Nehru, and adopted by the Constituent Assembly. It was moved by Nehru on December 13, 1946, and adopted by the Constituent Assembly on January 22, 1947.

Who wrote our Constitution?

Prem Behari Narain Raizada was the calligrapher of the Indian Constitution. He handwrote the original constitution in a flowing italic style. The original version was beautified and decorated by artists from Shantiniketan including Nand Lal Bose and Beohar Rammanohar Sinha.

Who is the father of Republic Day?

Dr. Bhimrao Ramji Ambedkar, the father of the Indian Constitution, was an ambitious leader, journalist, economist, and social reformer who fought against discrimination against the untouchables. On August 29, 1947, he formed a committee of seven members calling it the ‘Drafting Committee’.

Who first celebrated Republic Day in India?

Two days later, on 26 January 1950, it came into effect throughout the nation. On that day, Dr. Rajendra Prasad began his first term of office as President of the Indian Union. The Constituent Assembly became the Parliament of India under the transitional provisions of the new Constitution.

How many times there was no chief guest on the Republic Day of India?

Foreign leaders have graced the Republic Day parades every year barring 1952, 1953, and 1966. The then-Indonesian President Sukarno was the first chief guest to grace Republic Day in 1950.

Who was the chief guest on 1st Republic Day?

The Indonesian President Sukarno was the first Chief guest on the very first Republic Day parade of India.

Source link


Write A Comment